Q is for Quitting

The other day I was listening to an archive of  This American Life the topic was quitting. The first story was about a woman Evan Harris who wanted to quit everything, her job, her city, her boyfriend but didn’t know how to go about this. During a work day of alphabetizing files with a co-worker they began talking about the letter Q. Evan felt it was misplaced in the alphabet and that was the moment her life changed. I wont say more- you really should go listen to it for yourself, but I have decided that I love this woman. First off, the fact that she felt that the letter q was in the wrong place is enough to fall in love, but her philosophy on quitting sealed the deal. She created a zine which I’m not too sure if is still in circulation but I’ve decided to hit up the IPRC on Monday and check out their zine library to see if they have the Quitters Quarterly, and find out what it’s all about.Speaking of quitting I have set my final work date and it’s so close, yet so far. Right now I think I NEED to read the Quitters Quarterly. So, where I am right now?

There has been a lot of talk about writing but very little writing.  A friend of mine has been talking to me about his need to get rid of things, he wants to take things away from his life. As he tells it he feels like maybe this isn’t a good thing as he sees all these people adding things, but I think the taking away is exactly what I’m looking for the whole, less is more syndrome. I’m seeing things like the taking away, the quitting, the cleaning out all as very good things, at least for me and this is one of my distractions from writing- but HEY let me get back on topic.

My last day with the software company is September 15th 2008. So as of today I begin my count down to what I call my writer’s world. 49 days till writers world. Egahds! That still seems so far away but there are things to get done. My idea is that on the 15th of September I wake up and start my new day at my new job of being a writer. Till then there are little things I need to clear out of the way to simplify my mind. One is the studio- I need to get the eleven years of papers and notes out of there! They distract me, and they are too academic. I hear all my professors and fellow students whispering words of imperfection and grammar. It’s a mess. A part of me wants to throw it all away but I feel like that would be a waste and besides I could use the practice of patience; god knows I need it. My impatience gnaws at me like an annoying beaver with really really thick teeth.  One step is to manage my weekends. I’ve pretty much put an end to my social life which has freed up my weekends for writing assignments and I have decided to do just that. This weekend is Poetry weekend. That’s right I am clearing my trunks and old folders of all my poetry and poetry notes- by the time I’m done the idea is to only have books, everything typed and all the notes posted here on the blog. I have never been much of a poet so I think this task may actually be possible to complete. We’ll see. I’m thinking next weekend will be grant/fellowship research weekend but I’ll decide on Sunday night after I see how this weekend turns out.

A list of things that I need to be working on in the next 49 days:

  • Creating a schedule
  • answering e-mails/networking
  • wish list for the studio- this isn’t really important but I want it-you know feng shui-y stuff. Rug, small couch , lamp.
  • Notes and research for “THE BOOK”
Alright on too POETRY WEEKEND!
3080017-r1-e001
Leave a Reply

