Getting Rid of the Adverbs Makes a Better Story

After a painstaking search through 283 pages I located and highlighted all -ly- endings. I’m a newbie in the editing process. What I found out about myself is that I do seem to love the words nearly and directly. It hasn’t been eight years since an event, it has nearly been eight years since an event, and what happened then is directly related to what happens now. It’s nearly fate but not directly fated.

I must admit it hasn’t been till now that I see the use of adverbs as detrimental to a sentence. And it isn’t just because Hemingway hated them or some teacher here or there said they are appalling, but because they weaken a sentence. How long have I been writing in this passive tone I wonder.

I  don’t have to be an aggressive in your face writer, that’s a definite style, but I if were to eliminate a third of my -ly- endings my story would be so active that it could run a marathon.

 

In honor of all the haters of adverbs, The Cure and Camus I will be spending sometime Killing an Adverb.

2 thoughts on “Getting Rid of the Adverbs Makes a Better Story

  1. You know what? I actually like adverbs, but I think that’s more from an editorial standpoint, because when I’m writing and one of them slips out, it feels like putting something off. Like the point. Damn leeches.

    • Wow, look I finally figured out how to reply- oh no I’m not behind in the internet game. Thank god, my concern is low. My take on adverbs is that I overuse them, but I never got it till recently.

Leave a Reply

