My novel and the play

I’ve sat down to write for at least an hour on Zizkov, but here I am procrastinating on my blog, and knowing full well that I will probably not get to Zizkov tonight.

It is my goal to have the fourth draft completed by the 10th of July when, Inviting Desire goes on tour, so that I can have it printed out and manuscript in hand for me to edit. There is just something about working directly with paper, something that allows me to feel the story better as if the words are kinetic, tangible and reveal the truth of the story.

I don’t think I am even half way through yet. But, in my self defense it has been a whirlwind event with being cast in the show.

I had auditions on the 10th, my first short rehearsal to work some of my writing in the script on the 13th, then I spent that evening writing two of my own pieces to see if they are right for the show (I also wrote my own audition piece which has been incorporated into the show) first script rehearsal on the 14th, than another on the 16th, the 19th and the 21st. Than I had a movement rehearsal (since I have some movement in one of my pieces) on the 22nd, in the morning from 8-10am than again that day from 12-9pm, and another 9 hour rehearsal the following day and a short 4 hour rehearsal the day after which leads us to today the 25; we had a rehearsal and we have a rehearsal everyday till we open on the 12th of July. I literally have a month to get my parts of the show down, less if you count that you really should have the show ready by the dress rehearsals, which are next week. I have 17 days to be ready. Wow. This is the fastest show I have ever done, not to mention, writing my own parts. I have never done that before, I’m excited and totally nervous because I need to be off book, yesterday. So I probably will not be working on Zizkov after I post this. I will be going over my lines.

All I want to do in this life, my life, is write, do theatre/film, and travel, and here I am doing all three. You can get what you ask for, but when asking the universe for things be very, very certain to be specific, like say, “dear universe please bring writing, theatre and travel and money earned from all of the above, into my life.”

Than say, “Thank you.”

2 thoughts on “My novel and the play

  1. A trillion dollar worth words there, thanks:

    You can get what you ask for, but when asking the universe for things be very, very certain to be specific, like say, “dear universe please bring writing, theatre and travel and money earned from all of the above, into my life.”

Leave a Reply

