And on to the next…

The show has closed here in Portland, and we have taken the week off to relax and try to do the things we need to do to prepare for our two months on the road.

I’ve moved my things, and now I’m trying to unpack just the items I need to take on the road with me.

I had a funny job assignment the other day where I dressed up like a bride and sat in the park and sobbed as people that were playing a game came running up to me to console me as I told them the story of how my fiance showed up drunk to the ceremony and I took off heartbroken. Then I would give them some password than I’d run from them as they chased me down and then I gave them the next password. I did this with four different groups of people. It must have been so weird to see this bride sobbing and then being chased through a park by groups of people screaming out, “wait- wait- we’ll be your friend.” Or having random guys say, “I’ll marry you.” As I was sitting on the bench crying I thought, I’m getting paid to do this all those years of theatre and here I am in a corporate game for building team marketing skills. Heh, I shrug. Whaddya do? Be the best sobbing, running bride there is I guess.

I did see someone from my previous job, the one I quit to become a great novelist. He said, “what are you doing?” and I said, “I’m working actually.”

I can’t believe how odd my life is sometimes. Really.

I received an e-mail from a woman that works at Write Around Portland, in regard to the show. It was a really nice note and I thought I would post it here:

What a GREAT, GREAT show. Wow. I loved it. It was so bold and true and important. I really think our culture’s attitudes about sexuality are extremely wounded and it is art like this that will help us to revision this important component of being fully human. I am so glad you all are taking it on the road. And you were marvelous – I had no idea you are such a strong actor. I hope that you continue to pursue this talent. Thanks again for inviting us. Unfortunately, we were too tired to stick around for the open mic so I hope that went well too. Congratulations to all of you for this perception-altering production.
Have a great time in Canada.

Leave a Reply

