Week two of Workshop and things unrealted

Today starts the beginning of the second week of playwrite.

Some of my favorite moments from last week’s workshop: We did this trust exercise called driving the car. I was paired with a student and he put his hands on my shoulder and then I was to close my eyes as that student guided me blinded around the room. I had complete trust in this kid and it was the craziest sensation. I don’t know if I ever have allowed myself to just melt into someone’s hands and let them guide me. It was complete relaxation and floating. It was also amusing as I could hear the boy  who was guiding me giggling and then whispering, “phew, that was a hard one,” as he guided me through a particularly tight spot. I also liked working with another student on an exercise called the map. The student draws a map of their earliest home and it is their time to just talk away and you merely guide them by asking a few questions.

I’m lying if I don’t say it is exhausting. If I am not all there (which I wasn’t Thursday- because I’m human and I come with all my issues too) it can be harder for me, because I have to be constantly focused and listening and surprisingly that can be challenging.

Unrelated:

I saw Where the Wild Things Are and I was surprised at how intense it was. I would not bring my kids to that movie. There is very little dialogue, just like in the book. The way the movie is shot I was immediately struck with an overwhelming sense of loneliness and stress. I really liked the movie and I would watch it several times because there was a lot in there but for kids, under twelve I wouldn’t bring them. Mainly I think it could bore them. I don’t have kids so what opinion do I have on what children should see?

Also unrelated, I stayed up watching TED videos. Every once in a while I geek out on these talks. I watched Dave Eggers, mainly because I just found out that he wrote the screenplay with Spike Jonze for Where the Wild Things Are and I remembered he had a talk on TED that I had wanted to check out. I also watched these talks: Philip Zimbardo, Steven Pinker and Robert Wright (who I have decided that I love). All the talks were great- TED is an amazing resource of ideas and thinkers, but Philip Zimbardo’s talk on what makes an ordinary person turn “evil” was fascinating. There are some rough photo’s since he talks about Abu Ghraib. Each speech is under 24 minutes and every talk I have watched from technology to art to philosophy has been engaging and enlightening.

All right, that’s all I have to say today.

Leave a Reply

