Pick a title already! And stick with it!

I need to stop trying to be clever. Really. I’ve changed the name of my blog again. Again. This time I did something weird- I named it after its address. What a concept right? The problem was that when I started up this account a little over a year ago, I didn’t really know what blogging was or what I wanted to write about; what my niche was… the usual plunge into darkness. I struggled over some brilliant title that would get the people coming, but when you don’t know your audience or who you want your audience to be, brilliance tends to dull. I still don’t know, but, as far as the previous titles after a while I don’t like what ever title I come up with because it doesn’t seem like a true depiction of what I’m writing, which is over all about writing, and teaching and figuring out what the hell I’m doing. A point in our journey and movin’ along, yeah sure they kind of work but they are not truly mine. Both titles were influenced or inspired from other people’s work or ideas. So, I’m going simple, I’m using the address, Leta1950. What does it mean? Letafae is my mom’s name and she was born in 1950. Not much more than that, but without her I wouldn’t be posting on a blog right now. And the picture? That’s my cat. She died January 13 2009- I miss her- I have her picture there so I can look at her and say, “hi kitty.”

On to other things: Update, Inviting Desire is doing a weekend show so we are getting together to run the show once again- or twice again. I have a new workshop starting up this time I will be working with 7th and 8th graders (Oh my god!) I haven’t worked with that age group yet, so I’m excited. I have been procrastinating successfully on not working on my short story, since the submission deadline is getting so close, and I’ve thought about my novel but not touched it in three maybe four months. I’m going to be an extra tomorrow in some film that my friend is working on. I’m just sitting in a coffee shop so all I have to do is read which is great because I am reading two books right now: The Developing Mind, by Daniel J. Siegel and The Mind & The Brain- Neuroplasticity and the Power of Mental Force by Jeffrey M. Schwartz, M.D., and Sharon Begley. Both books were recommended reading for Playwrite Inc. Also, I was inspired by an article/interview in The Sun magazine (July 2008, Issue 390) Edward Tick On How The U.S. Fails It’s Returning Soldiers, by David Kupfer. I’m so motivated that I want to eventually move the work I have been doing with kids into working with Veterans. Right now the idea is lofty and dreamy but purposeful. The steps it will take for me to work at a capacity close to what Edward Tick is doing are vast but not impossible. First step: define the steps.

That’s it not much else going on.

2 thoughts on “Pick a title already! And stick with it!

Leave a Reply

