Procrastination list

Suddenly feel the urge to clean my room (after all too much clutter is not conducive to writing).

Color code my closet.

Not clean my room just look at it, and think about how much it needs to be cleaned.

Go get some coffee.

Socialize in person.

Talk to everyone on the phone, even people I don’t want to talk to.

Research: When looking up info on the movie Boys Don’t Cry, (this was triggered by watching, This Film is Not Yet Rated, because the film received an NC-17 rating) through a series of links, I found that the Matthew Shepard and James Byrd, Jr. Hate Crimes Prevention Act, the HCPA, the act that amends the U.S. hate crime legislation to include crimes based on bias of sexual orientation and gender, along with amending the law that hate crimes are only protective when a person is voting, was finally signed into a law by President Barak Obama on October 28, 2009. This is the first law to extend legal protections to transgender persons. Important and good information although not applicable to my novel, still I am placated by the knowledge that this is necessary and positive to know about legislation in regard to civil liberties and protections.

Eat.

Rearrange my netflix que

Eat more.

Grooming- grooming takes ages- like brushing my teeth can turn into an hour process.

More research, but for my writing project of course: When researching a Norwegian born character for my book Zizkov, I found that Norway was once small petty kingdoms that had been united by Harald Fairhair in 872 CE after the Battle of Harsfjord. I don’t think my character, 24 year old Endres, raised in the 80’s and 90’s, would care to be knowledgable in his own history, yet, I felt compelled to keep reading. Writing- zero.

Alphabetizing books.

Looking up word definitions (I convince myself this is useful in my writing).

Talking about writing.

Reading about writing.

Reading blogs about writing.

Even more eating.

Research: An urge to know when and how John Lennon and Yoko Ono met, eventually lead to Paul McCartney, and then Heather Mills. Ew, I shiver, and not because she is attractive. Not important information just celebrity gossip that holds absolutely no worth in my writing, but what a great procrastination tool celebrity gossip is, my brain melts as does my vocabulary.

Doing work for my job that pays in an attempt to get ahead of the game so I can spend more time writing, but never getting around to writing.

My other two blogs

This blog

One thought on “Procrastination list

Leave a Reply

