Searching for an Agent and other stuff

During my latest meeting with my writing mentor/instructor (I still haven’t been able to accurately understand the role of my “teacher” from the Antheneum, other than it feels a bit like having a novel counselor.) She said that it was time for me to start looking for an agent. I was a little surprised that she advised this since the book isn’t entirely done. Sure, sure, it has a beginning middle and an end, but there is so much more work to put into it.

She said that the process of finding an agent is so time consuming and that the response time is so slow that I can continue to fine tune my novel. It did take one publishing house a year to reject me, so I could see her point.

I’ve been searching the web for insightful information on how to write a query letter and how to find an agent, also the importance of knowing your genre. It’s about as time consuming as looking for a job. It is a job, an unpaid job. I’ve been looking to AgentQuery to find information, and in these beginning stages I’ve found it to be helpful. In truth, I find the entire process to be extremely overwhelming. Every day I look I give myself a pat on the back because I’m sailing through uncharted waters here, oh and I’ve never sailed before.

In other news, I have a date set for my second fundraiser. It is Don’t short Change the Muse II. I need to raise at least 650.00 in order to pay for my third tuition installment. Another overwhelming project. I have also been attending these Career workshops to help me move on from my current working to survive environment and into I love my job and my life kind of environment. It has involved a lot of personality tests. According to Myers Briggs, I am an INFP which turns out to be only 3 to 4% of the American population. Awesome, nothing like an uphill battle. At least, my desire to be a writer and a performer has been confirmed as exactly what I am supposed to be based on my personality tests. Okay, right path, long battle.

So it’s agent searches, job searches and promoting my fundraiser.

In a side note, I’ve been doing another Playwrite workshop. During the workshop there was a shooting and we had to sit locked in a stairwell for 30 mins. We were not allowed to talk. There were seven adults and seven teens. It really sucks that this is the reality of our times. I don’t really know what else to say about the incident except that at least no one was shot, and compared to other school shootings this was minor, but it shouldn’t happen anywhere, it just shouldn’t.

Leave a Reply

